Crock Pot Pumpkin Turkey Chili

Crock Pot Pumpkin Turkey Chili

Please humor me as I pull out just one more pumpkin recipe from the my cooking archives.  I have never had such an appetite for pumpkin as I have this fall season!  I must admit, when I first came across this recipe a year or so ago I was not initially impressed at the idea of pumpkin in a chili.  However, my curiosity got the better of me and I broke down and ‘tailored’ this recipe to what I think came out to be a winner.  Try it and let me know what you think and if you have any ingredient subs or deletes.  I would love to know what your ideas are.

1 T Olive Oil

1 c onion, chopped

1 yellow bell pepper, chopped

1 orange bell pepper, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

1.25 lb. ground turkey

1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes

1 can navy beans

1 can pumpkin (not the sweetened pie pumpkin)

1/4 c water

1 1/2 T chili powder

1 tsp sugar

1 dash salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

Shredded cheddar cheese

Sour Cream

 

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat and saute’ the onion, bell peppers and garlic until tender.

Stir in the turkey and cook until evenly browned.

Drain any extra juices off and add mixture to crock pot.

Mix in tomatoes, beans, pumpkin and water.

Season with chili powder, sugar, salt and pepper.

Cover and set on low.  Cook for 4 to 5 hours.

Serve topped with cheddar cheese and sour cream.  Sweetened corn bread is especially good on the side.

Serves 4 to 6.

Leave a Reply

